crankedmag

{ ride a bike… everyday, everywhere }

Chivas

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned throughout all of this magazine business is this: that we really have little control over everything we think we do. Tomorrow the magazine is scheduled to be released. I think I’ve done an alright job of lining the issue up, designing most of it, staying on top of contributors, scheduling its release and distribution, etc. So no matter how much preparation you yourself do, no matter how much control you have over all the little factors and details, everything can be turned upside down very easily. So where did all that control go?

The magazine will not be dropping tomorrow like I’ve planned one month exactly before the end of winter. It won’t be available for me to ride around with on this week’s Thursday and Friday afternoon making deliveries to the numerous shops in town. I won’t be heading to Portland this weekend to make deliveries. I won’t be able to ship out to all of the subscribers and pre-order customers, just as I won’t be able to send out to the copious shops carrying Cranked across the country and abroad. Instead, because there were some anomalies during binding time at the print shop the magazine won’t be available until next week most likely. Next week my work schedule isn’t going to allow so much free time, I’ll figure it out and get this issue out regardless.

We don’t have as much control over what we think we do. I’ve just gotten home from work, I’m going to drink a scotch, relax, and put some new bars on my bike; just about all I got from the swap. I have seen a finished copy of the mag though, all in all, it looks good! I can’t wait for you to see it.

I’ve been liking the scotch lately, pretty new to it, anyone have any suggestions?

Filed under: Cranked Magazine

7 Responses

  1. Hotte says:

    I dig scotch. Give me a call and let’s have a drink or two.

  2. crankedmag says:

    That was a bit too much scotch last night. Good times hanging out guys!

  3. Lane says:

    Murphy’s Law.

    My business with the Cranked crew has been nothing but smooth sailing. Your efforts and conduct are top-notch, sir, and that’s refreshing. Don’t sweat the printer hangup. No reflection on you.

  4. EternalI says:

    Glen Levitt…mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  5. Balvenie 15 Year old
    Glen Morangie Port finish

  6. Linwood says:

    Macallan 12. Smooth as a slick on new asphalt. Not heavy – like a Ti fixed, and makes you soooo happy! Ride responsibly.

  7. kyle says:

    My Scottish uncle swears by Talisker. A bit hard to find, but apparently worth the trouble. Personally, I drink The Glenlivet because I get a bottle from my boss every Christmas.

Leave a Reply

